Notes: Wrapping up twenty-eleven

The holidays were wonderful.

Mostly, I got to visit home (Columbus, Ohio) for a week.  It’s been a while since I spent that long at home–so it was nice to have a bit of time to see everyone and visit–without having to turn around a leave in such a short amount of time.

I did some shopping, wrapping, crafting, celebrating, and even got some time to snoop around in my grandma’s sewing stash–which has been untouched for a while.  I found some sewing books from the 60’s, some great vintage fabric and old sewing notions. It made me happy.

I also got a chance to make nice with my grandma’s sewing machine, also from the late 60’s.  We became quick friends–it still works wonderfully and I loved it.  I honestly think I made my current sewing machine jealous.  [I think they’re-sewing machines, that is-like dogs, they can smell the scent of another sewing machine on you when you get home.] I hope this doesn’t cause any problems…

Once my family found out I was coming home for a significant amount of time and I have gotten all crafty and junk while I’ve been away–I had a pile of projects for myself once I got home–including a computer sleeve for my mom’s new computer, a sleeve for my brother’s girlfriend’s Kindle, and a new slip-cover/sleeve for my brother’s bullet-resistant vest. Oy Vey!

Here are some photos from my journey home…

                       

Also, feel free to follow me on Instagram!

[Some of my other adventures included Chipotle, Skyline Chili, finding beautiful electric pattern clippers, lots of presents, the absolutely beautiful Christmas Corner at the State Auto building, I dyed my hair, got a trophy for 10th place at the trivia finals, and had a Lee Clarion Alumni reunion in Nashville!]

Did I mention I had a wonderful Christmas surprise waiting on me when I got back to Tennessee?

 

My lovely boyfriend surprised me with this antique sewing cabinet that I fell in love with when I was antiquing with some friends a few weeks back. He tracked it down, bought it, and wrapped it up for me while I was in Ohio.

I did a bit of research on it–the tag says it was made in Indiana.  The cabinet is by Caswell-Runyan Co “Perfect Sewing Cabinet” Patent no. 116985.  Made sometime in the 1940’s. And it’s pretty. Really, really pretty.  I haven’t quite moved it out of my living room yet. I have a bit of ‘moving-around’ to do in my craft/sewing room to find the perfect place for it!

All-in-all, the holiday’s were chaos, but they were great.

Did I mention that I opened my Etsy shop earlier this month?  Now that my stock is down after the holidays–it’s time to give it a little tlc and add a few items.  A few more homemade items will be added this week, as well as some vintage finds.  Spread the word!

This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Notes: Wrapping up twenty-eleven

  1. Sagira says:

    I’m sad I didn’t get to see you. 😦 Happy New Year Michelle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

