Sewing: Check another quilt off of the list

This quilt went so fast, I haven’t had time to blog about the “in-between” steps!

I made this cute little white and teal quilt for my almost 3-year-old nephew… and he likes trains.

I’ll be honest, I started out with zero inspiration… and not a lot of fabric to work with.  So I went with a simple block and when I finished it up, it looked a little plain.

So I used some fabric out of my scraps and pieced together a train.  I only sewed the pieces of the train onto the quilt top.

Each polka dotted piece measured 9.5″ x 6.5″, each teal piece measured 3.5″ x 9.5″.  Each finished block measures  9.5″ x 9.5″. (Using .25″ seam allowances)

I quilted the blanket with a simple square in each part of the blocks.  The square is inset about one inch.

I also bound the quilt half polka dot and half teal.  It’s a first mixing up the binding fabric for me! I like it!

The backing fabric is plain teal fabric.  Another first-time thing, is that I used white thread throughout the quilt! I like the way the white thread stands outs against the plain teal backing.

I’m loving this quilt! 🙂

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing: Check another quilt off of the list

  1. amandajean says:

    i think you did a great job! thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

Leave a Reply

