Food: Twice-baked Potatoes

I’ve been meaning to “finish-up” this post since early last week… here’s my fifth or so try!

L

ast Sunday, we celebrated father’s day by cooking dinner for Micah’s family. Because of the wonderful dinner, I have several recipes to share that I tired out (I love having guinea pigs that will come eat all of my “test” food!)

I have tons of other things for you as well, other than food, including a homemade bathroom rug inspired by this, a new dessert recipe and a storage trunk transformation.

I’m almost ashamed to say it, but I haven’t been much for unpacking lately.

I mostly blame it on me being without internet or TV at home, so when the cable guy came last week to install my internet and cable–I was super excited about the DVR upgrade I rewarded myself with.

Lets just say I’ve been lazy, and in the past week, my DVR storage is already 35% full.  What’s a girl to do?

Back to the delicious twice-baked potatoes.

(My recipe for these potatoes were originally inspired and adapted from this recipe.)

Ingredients for potatoes:
4 potatoes [1 per person]
8 oz. of Sour Cream
4 green onions
1/4 cup, cooked and chopped bacon
Salt
Pepper
1 cup of cheddar cheese

How to prepare:

1. Poke holes with a fork into each potato and wrap it in a damp paper towel.  Place each potato in the microwave for 5-10 minutes, depending on the size of the potato. [For mine, I put them each in the microwave for about 8 minutes.  I guess you could also go the not-lazy route and bake them in the oven instead of zapping them]

2. While warm, cut each potato in half, long ways, then gut the insides in a medium sized bowl. Place the skins on a cookie sheet.

3. Add about 1/4 tbsp of butter at the bottom of each potato skin, then toast in the oven on 375 degrees while you mix the rest of the insides. [about 15 minutes]

4. With insides in a bowl, add sour cream, chopped green onion, bacon pieces, salt and peper to the potatoes. Mix well.

5. After you pull the skins out from the oven, fill the skins with the potato mixture, top with cheese and bake for another 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Have you ever made twice-baked potatoes? What do you add to your insides?  I’d love to know your special ingredient!

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

