Food: Homemade Ricotta and Spinach Tortellini

L

ast night I got up the nerve to try out something I’ve always wanted to do–make homemade pasta, tortellini to be exact. This is one of those things that have been on my ever-growing to-do list, but I’ve never gotten the time courage to try.

Tell me, you’re impressed right.  The “homemade” before the “tortellini” makes me sound like a “real chef,” right?  I’ll be honest, my inspiration comes from the show Master Chef which is my favorite summertime show–I’ll save my rambling comments about that for another day, whew. But just thinking about it coming on last night (Monday night) made me excited to go home, make a nice, home cooked meal, and watch the latest episode (which turned out to be a re-run, but don’t worry I’m not bitter.)

I set my mind to the task at hand and I tackled it–and it was a complete success.  I will say, that the mixture in my bowl in the first picture looks a little scary, but the pasta turned out delicious, and next time I make the recipe (yes, there will be a next time) I will make a few changes (I’ll share those at the end of the post).

The tortellini wasn’t too bad, I even had time to make a quick dessert!

In all honesty, I had been putting this little feat off because I didn’t have a pasta machine, but it wasn’t too bad without one. But, if your planning for Christmas early and want to know what to get me? Presto!

Ingredients for the pasta:
5 eggs
3 1/2 cups flour
Although I’d be tempted to cut the recipe in half, I only used about 1/3 of the dough I made. Then again, I was cooking for two people, not an entire family! About half (or 1/3 of the recipe would be 1 1/3 cups of flour to 2 eggs

Ingredients for the filling:
8 oz. of Ricotta cheese
2 cups of frozen spinach (though you could also do fresh…)

Preparing the pasta:
1. Mix eggs and flour together with fork
2. Knead mixture for 5 to 10 minutes or until smooth
3. Flatten with rolling pin
I flattened a big blob of my dough, then cut the circles in it, and then flattened them more individually, I found this worked best.

Preparing the filling:
1. Combine both ricotta and thawed spinach in bowl.

Preparing the tortellini:
1. Cut dough into circles.
2. All small drop of filling in center.
3. Fold circle-cut pasta in half, pressing the edges together.
4. Press edges of half-circle together to form the stuffed circle.
5. Boil 15-20 minutes or until tender.

The short list of things I will change when doing it again. First, I would make less dough, but I guess we’ve already went over that. Second, I would make them smaller–remember, the dough expands after boiled, and although the bigger tortellini were delicious, I would have rather had bite-sized pieces. [I used the top rim of a cup to measure, so I would probably use something about half it’s size next time.]

And what about the sauce, you ask? I must admit, my last attempt with making homemade alfredo sauce turend out with me throwing a pan in the sink and my boyfriend quickly running to the store to pick up a jar of pre-made sauce. So I just saved us some time and headed straight for the cabinet and use the jarred goodness. No judging, I just made homemade pasta, afterall!

Planning on making or have you made homemade pasta? What pasta recipe do you use? What is your favorite kind of pasta to make? Share your recipes and photos with me!

What do you want me to make next?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

