Craft: Hand made greeting cards

T

here are a few things that you should know about me.

First, I am cheap, I mean, I like to save money where I can.

Second, I have a small case of OCD.  So in my mind, greeting cards (or birthday cards, wedding cards, anniversary cards) go with gifts.  Especially when you’re going to an event and someone needs to know who the gifts from–and lets just say it’s tacky to simply sign  your name on the outside of the bag….

That’s where this blog post is going… I’ll give you ideas on how to make simple greeting cards, that will fit any occasion and will fit your budget!

Here are the things that I used.

(Side note, I didn’t buy anything, these are all things I had from other craft projects. I was actually on my way to a wedding shower, had about 5 minutes left to make the card, and this is what I whipped together… photos and all.)

1/2 piece of textured scrap booking paper
A hot glue gun
3 small flowers
1/2 piece of white cardstock paper

I folded my pretty outside piece of paper first.  Then I measured the inside to cut the inside piece of paper only slightly smaller than the outside (about 1/4 in on each side).

I then hot glued my cut white cardstock paper inside of my textured piece of paper.  You can find all kinds of good deals on stuff like this textured paper.  I picked up tons of these when I found all kinds of designed ones clearanced out at Hobby Lobby a few months ago–regular priced $1.99 would have still been a good deal (as you can get 2 or 3 cards out of one 12 x 12 piece) but they were 6 for $1.00!

I then cut the shape of the vase, glued the flowers onto the front of the paper and then put the vase over top.

Viola–you’ve got yourself a cheap, 2 minute card!

See how easy it is?  Now go get creative and use the things you have around your house–wether you have a huge well-stocked craft pile or not, I bet there is something you could find!

I’d love to see what you come up with!!!

This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

