Food: Southern White “Sawmill” Gravy

M

y favorite nights are breakfast-for-dinner nights!  I must admit that these are my favorite nights for two reasons. First,  because I love breakfast food and second, because I don’t have it very often (and when I do-it’s plain ol’ cereal! And, I barely wake up with enough time to make that!)

One of my cooking weaknesses is gravy from scratch!  I can never seem to get the right, smooth consistency without making my gravy taste like flour!  But I believe I have the perfect recipe for it!

Try it and tell me how you like it!

I’ve started about 50 new projects this weekend, including making my own sewing pattern for a shirt, starting a quilted overnight bag, and I’m still trucking on that one quilt.  Oh did I mention I move in a week?  Has packing stopped me from sewing and crafting? ABSOLUTELY not.

-Mich

Ingredients for gravy:

5 tbsp. butter
4 tbsp. flour
2 cups milk
Salt & Peper to taste

1.  Melt butter in a sauce pan or skillet and add flour.  This will create a thicker paste, that you will cook until it’s browned (about the color of peanut butter).

2.  Once the paste is browned, add one cup and milk and mix.  Add the second cup gradually until completely blended.  As the sauce heats to a boil, it will thicken.

3. Add salt and peper to the gravy to taste.

**Tips:**
First, you can use sausage or bacon grease instead of all of the butter–or half and half. I simply warmed up my pre-cooked sausage in the pan and then made my gravy in the same pan without washing it.  It was turkey sausage, so it didn’t have nearly the grease of regular sausage, so I still used all 5 tbsp of butter. You can always add 1/2 lb of sausage if you want meat in your gravy too!
Second, be patient, it took about 5 or 10 minutes for my gravy to thicken.  It seemed like forever, as I held my breath every minute, hoping and praying to the cooking angels it would–and it did!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food: Southern White “Sawmill” Gravy

  1. Sagira says:

    Of all the things my mom can’t make it is gravy. She always got so frustrated with it. LOL

  2. Pingback: Craft: Hand Embroidered Bags |

Leave a Reply

