Food: Mini Blackberry Pies

Y

esterday, I was in a ‘baking’ mood, for sure.  I have been just itching to bake something cute up to share here.  Blackberry pies it was–In perfect timing for summer!

[Note: I also made dinner, which consisted of my first attempt to make a rack of pork ribs and homemade french fries, both of which were extremely successful, I’ll share those at some point this week, as well.]

It’s a pretty simple recipe to make, really!

Since I was on a time crunch, I didn’t both doing it completely homemade, I was making ribs and homemade french fries, afterall.

Let’s just call this semi-homemade!

There is one thing I would change, however.  The genius in me didn’t think to spray the muffin tin before use… I would recommend that.  I eventually got all of the little pies out without too much hassle, but it could have been avoided!

If you try this recipe out, let me know how it turns out.

Ingredients:
1 package of Pillsbury pre-made, refrigerated pie crust (comes with two crusts)
1 can of blackberry filling
1, 12 oz package of fresh blackberries, washed
1 egg

Preparation:
1. Use a round lid, about a inch larger than one circle in a muffin tin. Use lid as a template to cut crust in circles.  Save scraps. [One crust should initially made 4 circles, gather crust, roll out again to make additional 2 circles.  Use the other pie crust to make 4 more circles.  For a total of 10.]

2. Spray two muffin pans with Pam, or a similar cooking spray. Line two muffin pans (spacing them evenly) with the cut circles.  Fill 3/4 full with blackberry filling.  Add 3-4 fresh blackberries on top of each mini pie.

3. Top your mini pies with a woven top, just like on a traditional pie!  [I, personally, like the look of the woven tops, if you prefer something else, the give it a try!]

4. Don’t forget to brush the tops of the pies with a little egg wash before putting them in the oven, that makes them crispy and brown on the top!

5. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until slightly brown.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food: Mini Blackberry Pies

  1. Pingback: Food: Easy Barbecue Pork Ribs |

Leave a Reply

