Sewing: My latest quilt

A

fter a wonderful weekend visiting home (Columbus, Ohio) I’m ready, and motivated to start on my latest project! A quilt for my oldest nephew!

This weekend I actually gave the first two quilts I made out as gifts, one to my middle nephew, and one expecting friend Hilary, she’s due to have a little angel, Stella Rose, any day now. (I took pictures of the first one for my nephew, but completely forgot to get pictures of the second one!!)

I tend to get attached to things, and these quilts were no different, but I figured I might as well make them for others or all I’ll have in the end is a pile of blankets in my closet!

Anywho, I want to share my newest quilts progress with you. Soon, id love to write up some tutorial-ish posts about quilting for you all to see how easy it is (and fun)!

I picked out one patterned fabric and two solids for the quilt top. In the end the quilt will measure 40″x60″.

20110516-113400.jpg

20110516-113055.jpg

20110516-113114.jpg

I imagined a asymmetrical checkered pattern.

20110516-111853.jpg

Each of the blocks to be sewn will end up making a 10×10 square. The blocks will be put together in six rows of four blocks each.

20110516-112149.jpg

Each 10 inch square consists of 4 pieces of cut fabric, two larger pieces of the patterned fabric measuring 5×7 inches, the are two solid pieces of fabric, one of each color measuring 5×3 inches.

20110516-112159.jpg

To make this quilt, I need 48 squares of each cut, the smaller cut will be divided by two colors.

So far, I’ve cut all the fabric, and I’ll give you a look at what one block will look like.

20110516-112738.jpg

20110516-112816.jpg

The blocks will be alternated like so…

20110516-112914.jpg

Let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions.

What would you like to learn?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sewing: My latest quilt

  1. Beth says:

    Michelle, that looks like it is going to be beautiful. I love the patterns and fabric you chose!

  2. Sagira says:

    Wow, that looks like a lot of math to make a quilt. Very cute! If you ever have an extra…I would love to have one of your quilts things like that mean so much. 🙂

  3. Phil & Heidi says:

    I’ve got a question for you, sewing master. I want to buy a sewing machine but I’m graduated, unemployed, and nearing bankruptcy (or, well, whatever.) Sewing machines can be EXPENSIVE. What do you recommend? It’d be using it for making simple things like pillow cases and table runners.

    Heidi

  4. Pingback: Sewing: Finding the pefect machine |

  5. Pingback: Food: Southern White “Sawmill” Gravy |

  6. Pingback: Craft: Hand Embroidered Bags |

  7. Pingback: Craft: Refinishing a Storage Trunk |

  8. Pingback: Sewing: Finishing-up a quilt |

Leave a Reply

